Official US Federal Labs

USDA-ARS-National Center for Genetic Resources Preservation (NCGRP)

1111 South Mason Street

Telephone: (970) 492-7500

Fort Collins, CO 80521-4500

FAX: (970) 221-1427

Research Leader/Research Plant Geneticist: Vacant

Email:

Secretary: Jennifer Kendall

Email:  Jennifer.kendall@ars.usda.gov

 

Plant Genetics Resource Preservation Program

Staff

Title

Accreditation

Michael Bricker
mike.bricker@ars.usda.gov 

Bio Science Lab Technician

Purity & Germination

Patricia Conine
patricia.conine@ars.usda.gov 

Supvsr., Bio Sci Lab Tech

Germination

Joseph Duchene
joseph.duchene@ars-grin.gov 

Computer Specialist

 

Stephanie Greene
Stephanie.greene@ars.usda.gov

Seed Curator/Plant Geneticist

 

Andy Hagan
Andy.hagan@ars.usda.gov

Bio Science Lab Technician

 

Gregory Holman
gregory.holman@ars.usda.gov

Bio Science Lab Technician

 

Maria Jenderek
maria.jenderek@ars.usda.gov

Plant Physiologist

 

Annette Miller, RST
annette.miller@ars.usda.gov 

Bio Science Lab Technician

Purity & Germination

Dennis Moss
dennis.moss@ars.usda.gov

Bio Science Lab Technician

 Germination

Josef Pohl
Josef.Pohl@ars.usda.gov

Information Technology Specialist

 

Diane Skogerboe
diane.skogerboe@ars.usda.gov

Bio Science Lab Tech

 

Elise Staats
elise.staats@ars.usda.gov

Bio Science Lab Technician

 

Sue Varela
sue.varela@ars.usda.gov

Bio Science Lab Technician

Purity & Germination

Amy Vogt
Amy.vogt@ars.usda.gov

Bio Science Lab Technician

 

Tiffani Walker
Tiffani.walker@ars.usda.gov

Bio Science Lab Technician

 

Renee White
Renee.white@ars.usda.gov

Computer Assistant

 

Tests Performed:
Seed Viability, Seed Moisture, Seed and Non-seed plant tissue preservation

 

Plant Germplasm Preservation Research Unit

Staff

Title

Email

Jennifer Crane

Plant Physiologist

jennifer.crane@ars.usda.gov

Adam Henk

Bio Science Lab Technician

adam.henk@ars.usda.gov

Lisa Hill

Bio Science Lab Technician

lisa.hill@ars.usda.gov

Pat Reeves

Bio Science Lab Technician

pat.reeves@ars.usda.gov

Christopher Richards

Population Geneticist

chris.richards@ars.usda.gov

Gayle Volk

Plant Physiologist

gayle.volk@ars.usda.gov 

Christina W. Walters

Research Leader/Plant Physiologst

christina.walters@ars.usda.gov

Tests Performed:
Seed Longevity, Deterioration, Rescue, including orthodox and recalcitrant seeds; Seed Image Analysis; Non-Seed Preservation Research

Back to top↑

National Seed Technology Laboratory

3800 South 20th Street

Telephone: (785) 539-8761

Manhattan, KS 66502

FAX: 785) 539-2034

 

Staff

Title

Accreditation

Richard L Wynia
richard.wynia@ks.usda.gov

Center Manager

 

John M. Row
john.row@ks.usda.gov

Assistant Manager

 

Back to top↑

USDA Forest Service National Seed Laboratory

USDA Forest Service

Telephone: (478) 751-3551

5675 Riggins Mill Rd.

FAX: (478) 751-4135

Dry Branch, GA 31020-9696

 

 

Staff

Title

Accreditation

Robert P. Karrfalt
rkarrfalt@fs.fed.us

Laboratory Director

 

Jill R. Barbour
jbarbour@fs.fed.us

Forester

 

Becky Loth
bloth@fs.fed.us

Program Assistant

 

Victor Vankus
vvankus@fs.fed.us
 

Botanist

 

Tests Performed:
Germination, Purity, Seed Weight, Moisture Content, TZ, Excised Embryo, and X-ray

Back to top↑

USDA-FS-RMRS-Shrub Sciences Laboratory

Shrub Sciences Laboratory
735 N 500 East

Telephone: (801) 356-5100

Provo, UT 84606

FAX: (801) 375-6968

Stanley G. Kitchen

Botanist

Susan E. Meyer

Ecologist

Back to top↑

USDA, APHIS, PPQ Seed Examination Facility

Building 308, Room 319 BARC-East

Telephone: (301)313-9333

Beltsville, MD 20705

FAX: (301) 504-9840

Botanist Specialist-In-Charge: Rodney W. Young

Email: rodney.w.young@aphis.usda.gov

 

Staff

Title

Accreditation

David F. Bitzel  david.f.bitzel@aphis.usda.gov

(301)313-9332

Botanist

Germination & Purity

Tests Performed:
Noxious weed seed examinations for import provisions of the Federal Seed Act, Identification of propagules intercepted at ports of entry. 

Back to top↑

USDA AMS LPS Seed Regulatory and Testing Division

LPS Program, AMS-USDA, Testing Section

Telephone: (704) 810-8870

801 Summit Crossing Place, Suite C

FAX: (704) 852-4189

Gastonia, North Carolina 28054

Web Page: http://www.ams.usda.gov/Seed

Deputy Director/Lab Supervisor:
Ernest Allen

Email: ernest.allen@ams.usda.gov

 

Staff

Title

Accreditation

Charlene Burton
charlene.burton@ams.usda.gov

Botanist

Purity & Germination

Carolyn Camidge
carolyn.camidge@ams.usda.gov

Office Automation Clerk

 

Todd Erickson
todd.erickson@ams.usda.gov

Botanist

Purity & Germination

Pattsy Jackson
pattsy.jackson@ams.usda.gov

Botanist

Purity & Germination

Dr. Mike Lovelace
michael.lovelace@ams.usda.gov

Agronomist

 

Elizabeth Tatum
elizabeth.tatum@ams.usda.gov

Botanist

 

Anitra Walker
anitra.walker@ams.usda.gov

Botanist

Purity & Germination

Sandra Walker
sandra.walker@ams.usda.gov

Plant Pathologist

 

Yujia Wu
Yujia.wu@
ams.usda.gov 

Plant Physiologist

 

Tests Performed:
Purity, Germination, Noxious Weed Seed Exam, Pathological Tests, Cold Test, TZ, Accelerated Aging, Electrophoresis, and other variety tests including field and greenhouse grow-out tests by Federal Seed Act regulations, AOSA and ISTA Rules. 

Back to top↑

USDA-ARS North Central Regional Plant Introduction Station

Iowa State University

Telephone: 515.294.3255

G-212 Agronomy

FAX: 515.294.4880

Ames, IA  50011-1170

Email: swinter@iastate.edu